My Personal Theme for 2014

There’s something really spiritual about the start of a new year for me. It feels good to witness and live through another year. I give all praises to God for allowing me to experience 2013 and to see a new day in 2014. Some may say that today is no different than yesterday. But I disagree. We’re on day 1 of the new calendar and there are 364 more days full of new possibilities.

Instead of listing new year resolutions that I may or may not keep, this year I am proclaiming a theme: Be Bold and Move. 

2013 was a quiet year for me filled with growing, planning, and planting seeds. Last year, I was really good at coming up with ideas, talking about these ideas, and waiting for the ideas to grow into something real. I strengthened my foundation in faith and placed my trust in God hoping that He would turn these ideas into to something for me. But that’s not what God wants me to do. Constantly, He reminds me that faith without action is dead. It’s easy to say that I am a faithful servant and I believe in God’s will and purpose for my life, but what am I actively doing to support that claim?

There’s a lot of work that needs to be done in my life and the community that surrounds me. In 2014, I declare death to fear, doubt, insecurity, and laziness. I declare death to procrastination!!! This is a year of movement. This is a year of action. Ideas were planted in 2013.  This is the year to give birth to these ideas and actually make.things.happen. I will apply action to the visions I’m always dreaming. 

So I am writing for all of us who are ready to take action this year. May God give us the discipline, strength, courage, and wisdom to overcome our apprehensions, worries, barriers, fears, and any other obstacles that get in the way. This year, we will not let ourselves or excuses stop us from pursuing our visions, missions, and goals. This year, we will execute our plans and cross accomplishments off our lists. And even when God laughs at our plans and switches things up, we will not freak out–just take a deep breath, step back, and follow His lead.

2014 is going to be a great year. I can feel it.

Leave a comment